de    en  

Botrivier – village and surroundings

Botrivier is a small village in the Overberg region of the Western Cape in South Africa. The larger towns of Hermanus and Caledon are both approximately 30 kilometres away. Botrivier itself stands at 94 metres above sea level by the river of the same name. The name of the river comes from the Khoi-khoi tribes who used to graze their cattle on the river banks. They named the river Couga which means rich in fat or lots of butter - hence Bot (butter in Afrikaans is botter).

The river ends in a large lagoon, forming a small marsh and habitat to thousands of waterfowl. This is also where South Africa's only remaining herd of wild horses to roam a wetland habitat can be found.

At first sight, Botrivier may appear to be somewhat sleepy. The truth is, however, that besides a magnificent natural landscape, it offers its inhabitants and visitors a wide range of outdoor activities too.

Visit Botrivier’s official website at: www.twk.org.za/index.htm.

NPO Lucky Point Township NPO Lucky Point Township

de    en  

Botrivier – Stadt und Umgebung

Botrivier ist ein kleines Städtchen in der Overberg-Region am West-Kap in Südafrika. Die grösseren Städte Hermanus und Caledon sind beide rund 30 Kilometer entfernt. Botrivier selbst liegt auf 94 Metern über Meer am gleichnamigen Fluss. Der Name des Flusses stammt von den Khoi-Khoi-Stämmen, die ihr Vieh früher an dessen Ufer weiden liessen. Sie nannten den Fluss «Couga», was mit «fettreich» oder «viel Butter» übersetzt wird – daher «Bot» (denn «Butter» heisst auf afrikaans «Botter»).

Der Fluss mündet in eine grosse Lagune und bildet dort einen kleinen Sumpf, welcher Tausenden von Wasservögeln eine Heimat bietet. Hier schweift auch Südafrikas einzige Herde von Sumpfland-Wildpferden umher.

Auf den ersten Blick mag Botrivier etwas verschlafen wirken. Tatsächlich jedoch bietet es seinen Einwohnern und Besuchern neben der überwältigenden Natur eine Vielzahl von möglichen Freizeitaktivitäten.

Die offizielle Website von Botrivier finden Sie hier.

NPO Lucky Point Township NPO Lucky Point Township